Being Bruce -: 1st Annual Christmas Festival Tournament at Cape Fear National

Friday, November 6, 2009

1st Annual Christmas Festival Tournament at Cape Fear National

Yesterday was the occasion of the 1st Annual Christmas Festival Tournament at Cape Fear National golf course in Brunswick Forest in Leland, NC. Organized by the North Brunswick Chamber of Commerce on behalf of The Unity Group, the proceeds from the tournament will benefit the 17th annual Christmas Festival and Parade in Leland (this year on December 12th).

This was the first tournament at Cape Fear National and we used propane powered golf carts because electical power isn't yet available at the course (which officially opens on November 28th).

George Murray, President of the North Brunswick Chamber of Commerce displays the banners of the sponsors of the Christmas Festival Tournament.

NBCC board members Brenda Bozeman and Connie Reeves were on hand to register the early arrivals.

Triple Trouble - Joyce Throop, Marilyn Johnson, and Carol Koenig took over registration duties when the crowds started arriving.

NBCC Executive Director Terry Grillo.

Double Vision: Real estate brokers Les Christensen and Ophard Willis played on the Coldwell Banker Sea Coast Realty team. Can you see why we sometimes have trouble telling them apart?

Cape Fear National Golf Pro Ron Thompson and Director Chad Anderson.

Chelsea Cooley Altman and her husband Heath Altman. Chelsea is Miss USA 2005 and was the Honorary Chairperson of the tournament.

Representatives of eight of the sponsor teams participated in a sponsor-only, closest to the pin contest. Dan Cameron from the SunTrust Bank team won the prize.

As NBCC and Unity Group members and sponsor looked on, Chelsea made quick work of cutting the ribbon for the tournament.

At the end of the day players gathered under a tent for a meal and prizes.

Chamber and town folks representing the Christmas Festival and Parade were on hand, too.

Chamber volunteers Jeannie Reilly and Alice Razzano helped with the raffle drawings.

And at the end Ron Thompson announced the winning teams from the two flights.

This first year was a great success. Thanks to all involved for your participation and support.