Being Bruce -: Excellence in Education Awards Program, North Brunswick County, NC

Monday, May 4, 2009

Excellence in Education Awards Program, North Brunswick County, NC

Monday night was a special night for eight North Brunswick County students, their parents, and teachers. The First Annual Excellence in Education Awards Program was held at Thalian Hall in downtown Wilmington, North Carolina.

A program of the North Brunswick Chamber of Commerce, put on by the very strong Education Committee was a fine, fun event and highlighted just a few of our county's wonderful students and teachers. We were all of us very proud to be sitting in the room: students; parents; teachers; school administrators; and members of the NBCC.

Below are the Excellence in Education Awards winning students with their parents and teachers.
Todd Godbey, Chairman of the Education Committee.

Dr. Katie McGee, Brunsick County Superintendent of Schools was the presenter.

Jeff Harvell

Tracy Coston, Principal of Belville Elementary School

Our good friend Gerri Cooke made this excellent carrot cake - for 90 people! She received a huge round of applause.

Retha Rusk, Principal of Lincoln Elementary School.

The North Brunswick Chamber of Commerce Education Committee.

Peggy O'Leary, President of the NBCC.

Dr. Gil Cromshaw gave the closing remarks.
Terry Grillo, Executive Director of the NBCC.

Amy Bland, Donna Williams, and Todd Godbey.
Mark Koval of Communities in Schools

Amy Hartzell and Terry Grillo listened to Jeff Harvell tell some amazing stories.

Listen to what Jeff says about Calabash sea food.

Drew Roper of BB&T Bank

Teachers and parents.

The Excellence in Education Awards were presented to:
Zachery Lewis, Lincoln Elementary School, Teacher Ms. Nancy Lynch:
Annie laFave, Roger Bacon Academy, Teacher Ms. Laura Tumminello:
Christopher Lee Craddock, Belville Elementary, Teacher David Everett;
Quinten Johnson, North Brunswick High School, Teacher Ms. Martha O'Neill;
Kimberly Ramirez, North Brunswick High School, Teacher Wes Coward;
Jensen Wallace, Leland Middle School, Teacher April Stewart;
Alysson Valverde, Roger Bacon Academy, Teacher Heidi Thompson;
Bailey Craddock, Leland Middle Schoool, Teacher Ms. Wanda Hayes.
Members of the NBCC Education Committee include: Amy Bland, Tracy Coston, Gil Cromshaw, Helen Davis, Nancy Nipper, Donna Williams, Patricia Underwood, Retha Rush, Linda Rumsey, Mark Koval, Amy Saunders, and Chairman Todd Godbey.
Event Sponsors: BB&T, Bill Calder of Cunningham Mortgage, Coldwell Banker Sea Coast Realty, Cromshaw Chiropractic, East Carolina Bank, Murray Art & Frame, Therapeutic Kneads, and Marge and Bruce Brown